For the second leg of the adventure we were in Lyon and we all really enjoyed our time in the city. I went to watch Belgium versus Italy which was a great game. I enjoyed watching the defensive masters and I think Italy will take some beating. A great first goal from Giaccherini. At half time I managed to accidentally blag my way in to a hospitality zone where I got my hands on the cup! I think I will probably be the only Welshman to lift it this tournament but you never know, Greece and Denmark both did it!

On this trip so far I have met loads of really nice people from different countries. English, Americans Australians, French, Italians, Belgians, Swiss, Romanians, Northern Irish, Irish, Germans, Polish and more. [Touch wood] We haven’t seen any trouble at all and everyone has mixed nicely.

Our last night in Lyon was a belter and a perfect example of this. We ended up in a bar packed out with Welsh and Northern Irish fans. We all had a great craic, joining in and singing each other’s songs.

image

image

image

image
Chuch shows off his moves. Jagerbombs are ideal preparation for longboarding
image
The brand new stadium in Lyon

image

image
The Belgians outnumbered the Italians
image
The UEFA hospitality area

The old town in Lyon is very nice and worth a visit. We also made it up to the impressive Basilique Notre Dame de Fouviere. Incredible architecture and great views of the city.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image
Joe suffering from last night's jagerbombs

We got the train from Lyon to gay Paris and Richard and I hot footed it across the city to go and see Switzerland v Romania at the Parc des Princes. Another good match and a great volleyed equaliser by Mehmedi for Switzerland. The atmosphere was really good in the old stadium which has excellent acoustics. I imagine it is really loud when PSG have a big game.

image

image
Parc des Princes

image

image

My next post will be about the Wales England game and the rest of our time in Paris.

