Well, who would have thought it? After a lifetime of waiting, Wales have finally made it through to play in a major championship and I am going to be there!

The adventure begins tomorrow as we touch down in Bordeaux in mid-afternoon. There will be a huge Welsh contingent in Bordeaux and I’m sure the city will be a sea of red.

There are 12 in our party – me, the token South Walian, with Richard Evans and the Egliwsbach boys. My Dad and sister will be joining up with us in Bordeaux along with a big group from my home town of Caldicot. I’m sure the Caldicot Town Ultras will be out in force.  It’s great that Dad is coming to the first game as, like me, he has dreamed of this day for a long, long time.

On Saturday we play Slovakia in Bordeaux. A massive match. If we can start with a win who knows how far we can go.

I’ve never been to a major championships before so want to make the most of it and see as many games as possible. From Bordeaux we move on to Lyon and I have a ticket for Belgium v Italy in the impressive looking Stade de Lyon. A great game for a neutral hopefully.

From Lyon its on to Paris and straight to Parc des Princes for Romania v Switzerland. I’m also really  excited about spending some time at the fan zone at the Eiffel Tower.

We travel from Paris to Lens on the day of the England game. Sure this will be a tense affair, I just hope the atmosphere is good and there is no trouble (and Gareth Bale scores a hat trick).

From Paris we head down to Toulouse for our final group game against Russia.

I feel so lucky to be a part of this (thank you to my very understanding wife, Nichola and our organiser Richard who made this once in a lifetime trip happen).

Obviously I hope the results go well and I am quietly optimistic that we will get out of the group stages. However I am just so happy that we have made it and that I will be there. If we lose every game it will still be a great ride. Come on Wales!

I plan to post regularly during the tournament including photos and video.

